FAQ

Here are answers to frequently asked questions about GeloMyrtol®. :

Do I need a prescription for GeloMyrtol®?

No, GeloMyrtol is an over-the-counter product. However, you may need to ask your pharmacist as GeloMyrtol is often kept behind the counter.

Is GeloMyrtol a natural product?

Yes. GeloMyrtol is a natural product that is strictly made of a distillate of essential oils. Each capsule contains myrtol standardized (a distillate of a mixture of essential oils of eucalyptus, sweet orange, myrtle and lemon [66 :32 :1 :1]).

Can athletes take GeloMyrtol?

Yes none of the ingredients are part of the list of pohibited substances an methods of the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA).

Is GeloMyrtol® really efficient?

You should start experiencing the effects of GeloMyrtol® within the first few hours. The majority of users see their symptoms disappear after 3 days, others after 6 or 7 days. GeloMyrtol® is clinically proven in over 25 studies conducted with over 6,000 patients.

Can my child take GeloMyrtol?

En Europe, GeloMyrtol® has proven for decades to be safe and efficient in children of 3 to 17 years of age.

I have started taking GeloMyrtol® as a treatment for chronic sinusitis and cough. Is it normal to have a eucalyptus aftertaste once the capsule is dissolved in my stomach? This aftertaste makes me nauseous and makes it a little hard to digest the product. The product works very well. Over the last 4 years, I tried everything and saw several specialists, but none of them was able to find a treatment that could solve my problem.

The best way to protect your stomach against stomach upsets sometimes caused by GeloMyrtol is to swallow the capsule with a large glass of cold drink at least 30 minutes before meals. Taking GeloMyrtol® 30 minutes before meals will prevent gastric irritation. The GeloMyrtol® capsules are made to dissolve in the stomach. If they are taken shortly before a meal, they may dissolve too high in the digestive tract and thus cause irritation. It is also for that reason that it is suggested to take the capsule with a large glass of cold drink because a hot drink could also cause irritation.

The product was launched in Canada in January 2013, and many pharmacists are still not aware of the product even if it has been used in Europe for over 40 years. Where can I purchase it?

Even though many Canadian pharmacists may still not be aware of the product, please know that GeloMyrtol® is sold in all banner pharmacies in Quebec, as well as in some in Ontario. However, GeloMyrtol® is often kept behind the counter, and thus it is necessary to ask the pharmacist. If the product is not in stock, pharmacists are able to order it through their wholesalers and get it the next day. Don't hesitate to contact us if you have any problem finding GeloMyrtol®, we will help you find a pharmacy near you that has it in stock.

Can this mucolytic be used with any other medication? Are there any known drug interactions? Can GeloMyrtol® be taken with nasal steroids and/or nasal saline solutions?

GeloMyrtol® has been used in Europe for more than 40 years. Over 2 billion capsules have been sold in the last 10 years alone. Since market launch, no drug interaction has been reported. You may thus use GeloMyrtol® in combination with the treatment prescribed by your doctor without any concerns. Numerous physicians prescribe GeloMyrtol in combination with a saline sinus rinse.

Can GeloMyrtol® be used for extended periods of time, i.e. more than 6 months

Many people use it continuously.

What is that active ingredient called "myrtol standardized" and what does it mean?

The name "myrtol standardized" was created by Pohl-Boskamp to designate a distillate of a mixture of essential oils of eucalyptus, sweet orange, myrtle and lemon (66 :32 :1 :1), the main biologic compounds of which are monoterpenes 1,8-cineole, d-limonene and a-pinene. GeloMyrtol® is a mucolytic that liquefies the mucus to facilitate its discharge and help restore mucociliary clearance. If you wish, we can send you abstracts of clinical studies conducted with over 6,000 patients.

Contact us if you have any questions

FAQ

Quelques réponses à vos questions à propos de la solution GeloMyrtol :

Ai-je besoin d’une prescription pour obtenir du GeloMyrtol?

Non GeloMyrtol est en vente libre. Toutefois il peut être nécessaire de le demander au pharmacien pour l'obtenir car il est souvent conservé derrière le comptoir.

Est-ce que GeloMyrtol est un produit naturel?

Oui GeloMyrtol est un produit naturel, et il ne contient que des distillats d'huiles essentielles : chaque capsule contient du myrtol standardisé [distillat d'un mélange d'huiles essentielles d'eucalyptus, d'orange douce, de myrte et de citron (66 :32 :1 :1)].

Les athlètes peuvents-ils utiliser GeloMyrtol?

Oui car les composantes de GeloMyrtol ne font pas partie de la liste des substances et méthodes interdites par l’Agence Mondiale Antidopage (AMA).

Et est-ce que ça fonctionne vraiment?

Vous devriez ressentir les premiers effets dès les premières heures. La majorité des utilisateurs voient leurs symptômes disparaître au bout de 3 jours et les autres au bout de 6 à 7 jours. GeloMyrtol est éprouvé cliniquement et a fait l'objet de plus de 25 études dans lesquelles plus de 6000 patients ont été étudiés.

Puis-je donner GeloMyrtol à mon enfant?

Depuis des décennies en Europe, GeloMyrtol s'est démontré sécuritaire et efficace chez les enfants de 3 à 17 ans.

J'ai commencé le traitement pour sinusite et toux chronique avec Gelomyrtol. Je me demande si le goût d'eucalyptus à l'estomac, une fois la gélule dissoute, est normal. Ça me donne des nausées et j'ai un peu de difficulté à le digérer. Le produit fonctionne très bien, j'avais tout essayé depuis 4 ans et vu plein de spécialistes, personne n'a trouvé de traitement à mon problème.

La meilleure façon de protéger votre estomac des désagréments gastriques que GeloMyrtol occasionne parfois, c'est de prendre la gélule avec un grand verre de boisson froide et au moins 30 minutes avant les repas. Le prendre 30 minutes avant le repas va simplement vous éviter les irritations gastriques. Puisque les gélules sont faites pour se dissoudre dans le petit intestin , si elles sont prises trop près du repas, elles risquent de se dissoudre trop haut dans le tube gastrique ou dans l’estomac et potentiellement causer des irritations. C'est pour la même raison qu'il est suggéré de les prendre avec des liquides froids, une boisson chaude risquerait de provoquer la dissolution de la capsule et peut être des irritations.

Le produit est arrivé au Canada en janvier 2013, alors plusieurs pharmaciens ne le connaissent pas encore et ce, même s'il est utilisé depuis plus de 40 ans en Europe. Où puis-je me le procurer?

Même si plusieurs pharmaciens ne le connaissent pas encore au Canada, il est disponible dans toutes les bannières de pharmacies au Québec et dans certaines en Ontario. Toutefois, il est souvent gardé derrière le comptoir donc il faut le demander au pharmacien. S'il n'en a pas en stock, il peut le commander auprès de leurs grossistes et l'obtenir le lendemain. N'hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous éprouvez des difficultés à vous en procurer, nous vous aiderons à trouver les pharmacies près de chez vous qui le conservent en inventaire.

Est-ce que ce mucolytique peut être utilisé avec tous les autres médicaments ? Y a-t-il des interactions connues ? Peut-il être pris avec les corticostéroïdes nasaux et/ou des solutions salines pour nettoyer le nez ?

GeloMyrtol est utilisé en Europe depuis plus de 40 ans, plus de 2 milliards de capsules y ont été vendues et ce, seulement au cours des 10 dernières années. Depuis sa mise en marché, aucune interaction médicamenteuse n'a été répertoriée. Vous pouvez donc l'utiliser en combinaison avec le traitement que le médecin vous a déjà prescrit sans inquiétude. Plusieurs médecins prescrivent GeloMyrtol en combinaison avec un lavage des sinus à l'aide d'eau saline.

Et ce, sur une période prolongée même au-delà de 6 mois?

Plusieurs personnes utilisent ce produit en continu.

Quel est l'ingrédient actif "myrtol standardisé", et qu'est-ce que cela veut dire ?

L'appellation Myrtol standardisé a été créé par Pohl Boskamp pour désigner le Distillat d'un mélange d'huiles essentielles d'eucalyptus, d'orange douce, de myrte et de citron (66:32:1:1), dont les principaux composés biologiques sont : monoterpène 1,8-cinéole, d-limonène et a-pinène. GeloMyrtol est un Mucolytique qui liquéfie le mucus et favorise son évacuation et aide à redémarrer la clairance mucociliaire. Au besoin, nous pouvons vous fournir les études cliniques qui ont été réalisées auprès de plus de 6000 patients.

Contactez-nous si vous avez d'autres questions